Contact Sales 


Distinguishing Worldwide Standardization Organizations ISO & IEC

Posted by admin on Apr 30, 2013 9:10:19 AM

Standards work deals with safety aspects in many different forms across a wide range of technologies and for most products, processes, services and systems. The increasing complexity of products and systems entering the market makes it necessary to place a high priority on consideration of safety aspects.

ISO (the International Organization for Standardization) and IEC (the International Electro-technical Commission) form the specialized system for worldwide standardization. National bodies that are members of ISO or IEC participate in the development of International Standards through technical committees established by the respective organization to deal with particular fields of technical activity. ISO and IEC technical committees collaborate in fields of mutual interest. Other international organizations, governmental and non-governmental, in liaison with ISO and IEC, also take part in the work.

ISO and IEC are worldwide federations of national standards bodies (ISO member bodies and IEC National Committees). The work of preparing International Standards is normally carried out through ISO and IEC technical committees. Each member body interested in a subject for which a technical committee has been established has the right to be represented on that committee. International organizations, governmental and non-governmental, in liaison with ISO or IEC, also take part in the work. ISO collaborates closely with the IEC on all matters of electro-technical standardization.

International Standards such as the SAE AS6081 & AS5553A are drafted in accordance with the rules given in the latest ISO/IEC Directives.

These two standards which were released, are predicated on counterfeit avoidance, detection, mitigation, and disposition. Industries which heavily rely on reliability for example avionics, medical devices, & defense require these standards to help mitigate risk.

This week, at the meetings in Singapore, the group responsible for counterfeit avoidance is the working group 06.

The working group 06 in accordance with IECQ and industry requirements develop the necessary documentation to enable IECQ Counterfeit Avoidance - Approved Process Certification under the IECQ Approved Process Scheme. This level of accredited certification provides procurement teams with a degree of confidence after authorized OCM’s or franchised distributors have been exhausted.

As discussed this program has begun by meeting the needs of the aerospace, avionics and military industry, however the program shall be developed such that it allows for industries other than the aerospace, avionics and military industries, noting that different industries may require differing criteria.

Tags: Company-Blog

Industry News



Department of Defense News

Defense Logistics Agency News

Government Accountability Office News